Ulysses Wednesday #11

 Welcome to Ulysses Wednesday, where I track my progress reading James Joyce’s tale of a day in the life of Leopold Bloom.

 Status: page 534 of 783

 Another short post today — I’m still in the chapter representing a play, and as I read it I am convinced that Mr. Joyce must have been smoking some wacky tabacky while he was writing this.  Bloom has been declared a virgin, he has declared that “I so want to be a mother” and then he becomes a woman – or perhaps a girl – before turning back to a man in time to be beaten by a madam and some of her “girls”.  I think. 

  It’s interesting to discover how different Leopold Bloom’s character is than what I perceived before I started reading the novel.  Since I thought Ulysses was about him, I just assumed that he would be in all the action and that he would be a much stronger character.  Not so.  The novel follows Bloom’s wanderings through Dublin, but it doesn’t entirely focus on him; and in fact when he is involved in the plot I sometimes don’t notice that he’s even there.  Perhaps that was Joyce’s point? 

 

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in Ulysses. Bookmark the permalink.