Thoughts on Tinkers

I picked up Tinkers by Paul Harding at the library just days after it was announced as the 2010 Pulitzer Prize winner for fiction.  I had not heard anything about this book before, but based on some recommendations I’d seen on Twitter I thought I should check it out.

Alas, I was disappointed.

The writing is good (at times beautiful), but for me there isn’t much of a story to follow and I couldn’t feel anything for any of the characters to get me interested in them.  If the book had been any longer (it is only 191 pages in paperback) I don’t know that I would have stayed with it until the end.

It just proves once again that everyone’s taste in books is different, and “vive le difference”. 

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in reviews. Bookmark the permalink.