All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

9781476746586

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr is about Marie-Laure, a blind French girl, and Werner, a young German soldier, in the besieged town of Saint-Malo in 1944 as the Allies are liberating it.  In alternating narratives, we learn how these two arrive in the town and how their lives connect.

A novel set in France during World War II will always spark my interest, but add an original story and absolutely beautiful writing and you have a winner in my eyes.  We all know the big picture bad guys and good guys of the war, but this novel creates a greyer level of players on both sides.  Morality is not always clear in life and death situations — some act for the greater good of everyone, others do only what is best for them; and who is to say what is right or wrong without being there?

This is not a short book (530 pages in hardcover) but it is one that is worth the time invested.

 

 

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in fiction, Francophilia, World War II and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

  1. Melissa Mc says:

    I just bought this….can’t wait to start.

  2. Kateg says:

    On my pile and I hope to get to it soon! Glad you enjoyed it. I am also a big fan of WW 2 fiction and I love a good long story in the summer. Thanks for reminding me about this book.

  3. I recently finished listening to it and was stunned by its quality

Comments are closed.