Readers’ Workouts

The Readers’ Workouts meme is hosted at Joy’s Book Blog.   This is a place to share exercise successes and challenges.

I have been going back and forth on whether or not to post.  I’ve been working out fairly regularly the last month or so (3-4 times a week) and I am ever so slowly seeing physical results.  But one of the biggest benefits to me for exercising in the past – the mental and emotional ones – are not coming this time around.

Some of my funk can be weather related; I normally enjoy the winter but this year it has been particularly cold and snowy and long and I want it to be over.  Despite the regular exercise my energy level is low and my mood most days is even lower.  I have little interest in anything – I didn’t count numbers but I think I read the least amount of books in February than any month in probably 5 years and I only wrote about one of them.

My head knows that there are things I can do to snap out of whatever I’m going through but the rest of me is finding it so.damn.hard.

 

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in health and fitness, running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Readers’ Workouts

  1. Satia says:

    So many people are struggling with the weather this year, even people who LOVE the winter weather. You are not alone in feeling the funk. But you’re taking care of yourself and this weather will eventually warm up. I live in Georgia, where we are already seeing signs of spring so I know warmer weather is coming. I wish it would hurry up for everyone’s sake!

  2. joyweesemoll says:

    So sorry you’re struggling, but good for you for doing the exercise anyway. The moods will catch up eventually and you’ll be in a good place to take advantage when they get here!

  3. gsjonuk says:

    The amount of snow has been tricky in Northern BC also. Even the Prince George Iceman, an outdoor running, skiing, and swimming event was cancelled (the swimming wasn’t outdoors – we’re tough not idiots). That said, the older I get the softer I get. I really ought to do something about that deplorable trend. Maybe I will after a bag of potato chips :)

  4. Vicki says:

    Sorry you’re having a hard time, but I think it’s great that you still work out. I know so many people who are dealing with the cold and snow and are totally sick of it. Hopefully it won’t last much longer!

Comments are closed.