bibliosue’s 2014

New Year

Happy New Year everyone! I hope 2014 brings you everything you wish for and deserve, both in books and in everything else!
Today is the perfect opportunity to re-resurrect my blogging. No looking back on the past, just forward to the future. The past few weeks I have been thinking about how I want to proceed with my reading life and while I have decided that formal review-type posts are not for me I still want to keep up with the blog. This will be a repeat of things I have already said but I do like to put down in words what I like/dislike about books and I also really enjoy the community of friends that I have found thanks to my blog (I had the great pleasure of spending a day in Amsterdam with one of these friends, Judith from Leeswammes, last month and it was a highlight of my year).

So I can’t promise how often I will post, but I will post.  My current plan is simply to post each time I have finished a book, with its description, a summary, and my thoughts on it.  Some books might prompt me to write more, but I think that is something I can realistically manage.

And I have also made a reading resolution for myself:  Read the books that I already have on my shelves or on my e-reader.  I thought about counting how many that is, and I may still do so, but I’m a bit afraid of the number –  I’m going to guess it is between 250 and 300.  That’s unread books.  I won’t say that I will not buy any new books this year, but I am going to make a true effort to limit those purchases; I will be attending Booktopia in Boulder, CO, in May (and hopefully in Asheville, NC, in August) so when the author lineup is announced I will likely purchase those featured books, and if Rohinton Mistry should publish a new novel this year (PLEASE PLEASE) I will be all over that.  When I see a book that interests me I will simply put it in on my wishlist and be patient (easier said than done).

Now, back to reading!

 

 

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to bibliosue’s 2014

  1. winstonsdad says:

    Happy new year sue I’m wanting to attack my tbr next year

  2. Leeswammes says:

    Oh, I do hope you will post regularly again, Suzanne! I want to know what’s happening in your bookish life and what books you recommend. I very much enjoyed our day in Amsterdam, too. I hope you’ll meet many more blogging friends this year! Happy reading (and blogging).

  3. SO Wonderful! Psst… I’m so jealous you are going to Boulder! I know it will be super fun!

  4. Joanna says:

    Good luck with the blogging and how great that you got to meet up with Judith. Here’s to a great 2014.

  5. gsjonuk says:

    I look forward to your posts Suzanne. And, have an outstanding year of reading. I hope to find time time this week to do some strategic thinking about I would like to accomplish in reading and blogging. Similar to you, I’ve got a basket full of unread magazines to exhaust before I get to read other treasures.

Comments are closed.