Readers’ Workouts

The Readers’ Workouts meme is hosted at Joy’s Book Blog.   This is a place to share exercise successes and challenges.

After my experience with Pilates last Tuesday, I decided to proceed with my bravery and try a cardio kickboxing class at the gym on Thursday.  Again I was a bit intimidated, but when I walked in I immediately went to the instructor and let her know it was my first class and asked if she had any tips.  She was very nice and explained a few of the basic moves to me, but her biggest advice was to have fun.  And I did.  It was a great workout!  Of course I didn’t do everything “perfectly” but I kept up with the class and didn’t run into anyone when I went left instead of right so I consider it a win!  I will definitely go back this week.

Add to that my Wednesday workout with my trainer and two other workouts on my own and I was an exercising machine!  What is even better is that I want to keep up the momentum and am scheduling the rest of my life around my new-found interests at the gym.  Sure I know it’s not entirely realistic for the long term, but I’m going to take advantage of my motivation while it lasts.

 

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in health and fitness, running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Readers’ Workouts

  1. heather says:

    Kickboxing classes are fun! Sounds like you are doing great.

  2. Vicki says:

    Kickboxing sounds like so much fun. It’s too bad I’m having problems with my left knee, otherwise I’d love to give it a try. Maybe soon…
    Your RW posts always motivate me!

    • bibliosue says:

      Thank you Vicki! Everyone’s encouraging comments really motivate me. I hope your knee feels better soon, unfortunately kickboxing is probably one exercise that would not be good for it.

  3. I’ve found that scheduling my time at the gym has helped me a lot too. I’m a very schedule oriented person, so blocking that time out on my calendar has helped quite a bit. Even if I can’t make it to the gym, I will almost always get myself doing something physical during that time.

    Good job this week!

    • bibliosue says:

      Thank you Crystal! It’s taken me a long long time to get it through my head that I must make time for exercise and that it is a priority.

  4. A.M.B. says:

    Sounds like a fun workout! I did Pilates yesterday and I am so sore today (I took too long a break over the holidays). Ugh.

    • bibliosue says:

      I went back to Pilates last week after an absence of several months, so I feel your pain A.M.B! I went to Pilates again tonight and it was a little bit easier.

      • A.M.B. says:

        I hope it’s the same way for me! My next Pilates is Friday (otherwise, I’m on the stationary bike, which allows me to read!).

  5. zibilee says:

    Congrats on your success at the gym! I need to get back into shape over the next few weeks, and have been lazy since last September. I think that is long enough for me to have sat on my bottom!

  6. joyweesemoll says:

    It sounds like you have a great gym with terrific teachers! Kickboxing sounds like fun.

    • bibliosue says:

      I’ve been lucky, Joy, in that I’ve picked the right classes and have been in the right frame of mind to be courageous and try something new. That is not always easy for me.

  7. Jen G. (The Introverted Reader) says:

    I love Pilates! I haven’t tried a kickboxing class. I should see if there’s one available at a time that I’m not working. Great week!

    • bibliosue says:

      I’m not to the point where I love Pilates yet, Jen, but I do like the workout. Scheduling is always a problem with the classes at the gym — finding the right class at the right time.

  8. Greg Jonuk says:

    Keep it up Suzanne! I read a good article recently that said that the key to establishing good habits is to establish good triggers (like prepping your exercise gear and putting it in a good place to see, or setting aside a consistent time to exercise) and to motivate yourself by looking past the activity and thinking about the benefits. I have a morning habit to do sit-ups and push-ups in the morning. I don’t enjoy it but I think about the benefits when I start to procrastinate and It gets me on the floor – most times. I also don’t beat myself up over a missed session. I start fresh the next day.

    • bibliosue says:

      Thank you Greg for the kind words. I am trying to make exercise a habit, it’s been a good sign that lately I’ve craved going to the gym if that makes any sense.

  9. Fun! Good for you. I love to exercise but when I tried cardio kickboxing it didn’t go so well :-) I’m more of a weight-lifting and Pilates-doing person, but those classes can be great. :-)

  10. Leeswammes says:

    You’re doing really well, Susanne. And when you’re having fun, you want more of the same, so that is brilliant. Keep it up!

Comments are closed.