It’s Monday! What are You Reading?

It’s Monday! What are You Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.   It is a chance to share with others what you have been reading and what you plan to read.

Last week I finished the following books:

Books in Progress:

So tonight my book club was supposed to meet to discuss The Snow Child but our discussion is postponed until next Monday.  Because it is going to be cold.  Not snowing, which might make driving difficult, just cold.  The forecasted high is 8 degrees F (-14 degrees C), which is certainly chilly but to my Canadian blood that temperature in mid-January is fairly mild.  And the fact that it will be “too cold” to discuss a book set in the frigid Alaskan frontier is mildly humorous to me.

And that means my streak of not buying books will go on just a little bit longer.  Our group meets at an independent bookstore which I can’t visit as often as I’d like so I was looking forward to buying my first book in 2013 when I came for the discussion.  Let’s see if I can keep up the willpower to wait one more week.

 

 

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in week in review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It’s Monday! What are You Reading?

  1. Leeswammes says:

    Well, -14 IS cold, in my eyes. Not sure why that stopped people. Maybe some are travelling by public transport? Door-to-door by car should be fine.

    I’m still reading “Habit” and enjoying it, although I don’t agree that everything he describes is “habit” us we use the word generally. He uses the world rather widely. But in any case, it’s an interesting book with interesting case studies. Just read about Rosa Parks. I saw a movie about her a few years ago and it was really nice to read about the story again.

    Have a good week!

    • bibliosue says:

      Everyone is driving by car, Judith, and cold weather in January is fairly common, so I’m not sure why the postponement.
      I agree that Duhigg uses the word “habit” liberally in his book but it is still a fascinating read.

  2. Harvee says:

    The uninvited Guests looks like a novel I’d enjoy! Enjoy reading though it’s cold!!!

  3. zibilee says:

    I just finished Dark Places on audio last night, and I am curious about what others will think of it. I will be interested in hearing your thoughts on it when you finish it. I am reading The Reckoning and listening to White Horse right now, but still haven’t finished Y: A Novel. I need to make some time to do that!! Have a great reading week!

    • bibliosue says:

      I actually picked up the audio of Dark Places based on your suggestion last week, zibilee! I’ve only finished Libby’s first chapter so far and I suspect it will be a thrilling joy ride like Gone Girl was.

Comments are closed.