Readers’ Workouts

The Readers’ Workouts meme is hosted at Joy’s Book Blog.   This is a place to share exercise successes and challenges.

My gym membership includes 4 Pilates Reformer classes per month (if you don’t know what a Pilates Reformer is, think of it as a medieval torture device).  I have taken a few classes in the past, but I’ve lapsed the last few months, and since I’m paying for them anyways I thought I’d better get using them; so I went to a class today.

I’ll be the first to admit that I am out of shape and not very flexible nor graceful.  And I felt intimidated by the others in the class, because they had obviously been there before – I wanted to run away.  But nothing gets easier by running away, so I stayed and I worked through the exercises to the best of my ability – and kept up pretty well, actually.  Thankfully the class is very small (there were only four of us) and since I let the instructor know when I arrived I was a bit rusty he (yep – a guy!) took time to show me proper form.  I still felt a bit awkward (hey, I can’t become graceful overnight) but I’m proud of myself for seeing it through.  Tomorrow, however, I may not be able to move but, well, that’s tomorrow.

The moral of the story for me:  Everything is hard the first time (or the first time back).  But it won’t become any easier if the first time never happens.

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in health and fitness, running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Readers’ Workouts

  1. joyweesemoll says:

    Excellent attitude. I need to remember this: nothing gets easier by running away.

  2. Vicki says:

    So glad you stuck with it., shows how dedicated you are to getting fitter! Very motivating post!

  3. That sounds wonderful, congratulations!!! I always try to remind myself that if I’m consistent, it doesn’t matter if I’m taking baby steps :)

  4. zibilee says:

    This is how I feel about Yoga. At one time, I got really good at it, but I haven’t been to a class in months, and feel uncomfortable and out of shape. I really need to get back into the swing of things and get going again. It takes a lot of dedication to be good at these kinds of things, and I am proud of you!!

  5. Leeswammes says:

    Well done, Suzanne. I’m forever starting a workout routine and joining classes where everyone has been training forever and know all the steps, etc. Just go for YOU, not for the others!

    The advantage of a guy is that you don’t feel the need to compare yourself with him as much as when you have a female instructor with a perfect physique. At least, I can’t help doing that and it’s depressing. :-)

Comments are closed.