It’s Monday! What are You Reading?

It’s Monday! What are You Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.   It is a chance to share with others what you have been reading and what you plan to read.

Last week I finished the following books:

Books in Progress:

I have been so busy with a big project at work, bringing it home evenings and weekends, that my reading time has decreased a lot the last few weeks.  But on the plus side, it’s more enjoyable, since lately I’ve only been able to read at the end of the day as a “treat” for getting some work done.

In other (possibly related) news, I haven’t bought a book yet this year.  I think that is a record for me.  That’s not to say my to-read list hasn’t grown, but I’ve resisted the impulse to buy a book immediately upon hearing about it.

What are you reading this week?

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in week in review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to It’s Monday! What are You Reading?

  1. Leeswammes says:

    Oops… I thought, but the year is hardly started, it’s not so surprising that you haven’t bought a book yet. THEN, I remembered I bought one this Saturday. :P

    Bad me – it’s one that I wanted when I first saw it and now it was half-price. A biography (with many pictures and first-person accounts) of my favorite Dutch author.

    I hope your work slows down again so you have more time to read. Happy reading this week!

  2. gsjonuk says:

    I’m pecking away at The Summons by John Grisham, that I swapped from a hostel in NYC. I usually enjoy his novels more, not sure if he’s changed or I have. I must resolve to get to the library to “book up”. I esp. like audio books that I can shovel the driveway and do household chores to.

    • bibliosue says:

      It’s been a while since I’ve read John Grisham, Greg; I did read his non-fiction book, The Innocent Man, a few years ago and it was fascinating.
      If you ever find yourself near my neck of the woods, feel free to drop by and I will “book you up” :-)

  3. zibilee says:

    I LOVED The Snow Child and thought that it was one of the best audios that I have ever heard. I am so glad that you are reading it! I can’t wait to hear what you think! I am reading Y: A Novel and listening to Dark Places by Gillian Flynn. It kind of reminds me of We Need to Talk about Kevin, which was a favorite of mine. Terrifying, but a favorite!

    • bibliosue says:

      I’d imagine The Snow Child would be quite good on audio, zibilee. I’m enjoying it so far though it is a bit bleak.
      Your comparison of Dark Places to We Need to Talk about Kevin is interesting. After reading Gone Girl I have vowed to pick up Flynn’s other two books

  4. The Snow Child is on my reading list, so I’m curious to see what you think of it when you’re all done. Hope you find some extra time to get some more reading done this week :-)

  5. Isi says:

    I’m very interested in The power of habit; I’m looking forward to reading your review. It looks interesting.
    About not buyin books, I’m also trying after the Christmas’ bookish presents ;)
    Now I’m reading two books: one landscape novel in Spanish and another book in English, hope to finish them this week, but the exams of the firs term of my degree are coming and I haven’t got so much time!
    See you!!

Comments are closed.