Readers’ Workouts

The Readers’ Workouts meme is hosted at Joy’s Book Blog.   This is a place to share exercise successes and challenges.  It’s been a long time since I have participated, but a New Year is upon us and it is time for me to work harder on my efforts to exercise.

The only Black Friday shopping I did was at my gym, where they were offering a special on personal training (“Fitness Coaching” in their lingo) – $99 for 3 hours (which I break down to 6-30 minute sessions).  I was looking to get back to working with a trainer anyways and this was the perfect opportunity.  Back in the spring I purchased some sessions with a trainer named Mark and I found them extremely helpful, but even though he gave me some workouts to do on my own I really did miss that extra “push” he provided; he challenges me but not in a drill sargent way.  He is also extremely flexible; a few times I’ve arrived for my workout and told him I had a bad day at the office and instead of what he planned for me he brings out some boxing gloves and we do boxing (which is amazingly therapeutic).

Anyways, I only have 2-30 minute sessions left in my Black Friday package so I need to look into buying more sessions.  It is an expense, but for me it is a worthwhile one.

Also, I have signed up for my 2nd 5k in April (!!!) so I need to get back into the running groove.  I have been running on the treadmill here and there, along with workouts on the elliptical machine, but I need to refocus and work on my endurance and pace so that I can better my last time out.

And lastly, does anyone have a Fitbit?  My husband and I got them over the holidays and we are in friendly competition with each other over how many steps we take each day.  If anyone is interested in “friending” me on their site please let me know.

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in health and fitness, running. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Readers’ Workouts

  1. zibilee says:

    I need to get back into the fitness groove as well, but it’s been hard since I’ve injured my back (again). Now I end up sitting most of the day, but soon I am hoping to be able to take a couple of walks with the dogs for a half hour each, and do some more yoga as well. Good luck with your fitness goals!

  2. Good job on working with a trainer! I see what they do to people at my gym and I find myself glaring at them, lol. Finding a flexible trainer sounds like a really great idea.

    • bibliosue says:

      Thanks, Crystal! I am really lucky that I was paired up with a trainer who pushes me but not so hard that I cry (like Jillian Michaels would :-) )

  3. Cool that you found a trainer who works well with you. I just tweet-introduced you to Kim who was using FitBit last fall.

  4. Greg Jonuk says:

    Great that you are getting yourself on the treadmill again. I did the step challenge in our office a few years ago. I was logging in at over 40,000 steps day to pull off the championship. I learned how to do many things walking.

    • bibliosue says:

      Thanks Greg! I’m finding that I’m walking more around the office as well. I’m surpresed at the number of steps I do just with my regular activities.

Comments are closed.