Sitting Around on a Sunday

So much to do, so little time!

My husband and I will be heading up to my hometown of Winnipeg on Thursday for Easter with my family and returning on Monday.  So this weekend has been preparing for the trip:  fun stuff like ensuring “The Easter Bunny” has pre-delivered treats for my nieces and nephew and practical stuff like getting the laundry done and preparing checklists to make sure nothing is forgotten. Since I’ll be out of the office for three days, I brought some work home this weekend to get as much done as I can.

Since we are driving, and it’s a 14 hour trip each way, I also have to think about getting some audiobooks to occupy us during the ride.  The challenge will be to select stuff that interests both of us …

How are you spending your Sunday?

About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in random reading thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sitting Around on a Sunday

  1. gsjonuk says:

    Well, I’m also processing audiobooks but not for road travel but rather for listening to while doing house chores. This is a mental trick I play on myself to make something not so exciting, more enjoyable. And, If I pick the right book, a lot more gets done.

    Have fun on your trip back to Winnipeg. Any plans to fuel your nostalgia? I enjoyed a visit to Dals when last in Wpg.

  2. bibliosue says:

    Ah yes, good greasy Dals. My non-Winnipeg born husband loved their chicken. We’ll have to see …. when I was home in the summer I had Chicken Delight which was ok but I always preferred Dals.
    I might be getting tickets for the last Jets’ game of the season so that is some big time nostalgia right there!

    I find I can’t concentrate on the narrative of an audiobook if I’m doing chores, though I’ve tried. Driving and working out are the only times I can “get into” an audio book. Any suggestions on what to listen to, Greg?

    • gsjonuk says:

      I frequently have to re-listen to chapters for the same reason, Suzanne. I try to keep my audio reading on the lighter side when I don’t want to repeat chapters.

      I suggest scheduling a hubby/wifey library date to pour through the books on CD stacks.
      My current recorded book favorites are by authors Jeffery Deaver and David Baldacci. The readers for their books are usually well chosen and add value to the experience. Pay attention also to if the book is abridged or not. Personally, I want my books unabridged, but you and your husband should decide on what will work best for you.

      Another option is to download CBC Radio podcasts. CBC Ideas episodes are awesome as are Age of Persuasion and Under the Influence.

      Have a great trip and enjoy the Peg, esp. the Jets game if you are able to go.

  3. Leeswammes says:

    I can’t help you with audiobooks but I hope you have a good trip. That’s quite a distance you’ll be travelling!

Comments are closed.