Printers’ Row Lit Fest

I’ll say it up front — I’m a dork.
One of the highlights of the summer for me is the Printers’ Row Lit Fest in downtown Chicago, which was held this weekend.  Despite a bit of rain and cooler than expected temperatures, it was a wonderful day for books and the authors who write them.

I went to a few author events:
       Barbara Ehrenreich
       Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, who after signing my copy of Half of a Yellow Sun was gracious enough to write down a few names of other modern African authors:

        Brigid Pasulka, Dan Chaon, and Katharine Weber – an interesting discussion on how identity played a role in their novels.
 
      After the author events I purchased a few books that I didn’t already own or haven’t read:
     (I’ve read Chaon’s Await Your Reply and have You remind me of me on the to-read shelf; I just finished Pasulka’s A Long Long Time Ago & Essentially True which was fantastic (review soon!);  I’ve also read Ehrenreich’s Bright-sided)
      In addition to the author events there are many used and new booksellers and publishers with tables along a few blocks of South Dearborn Street (the historic Printers’ Row of Chicago) selling books.  Thankfully most of them only take cash, and I bring only a budgeted amount, so I only bought two more books:
     I keep telling myself that I should stay the weekend in Chicago and take in the Sunday programs as well, and one year I will do that.  Anyone interested in joining me?
About bibliosue

Avid reader
This entry was posted in authors, book festivals. Bookmark the permalink.